Minutes of Port Commission Special Meeting November 3, 2021 In Person & Videoconference

A Special Meeting of the Port Commission of Port Freeport was held November 3, 2021, beginning at 10:00 AM at the Administration Building, 1100 Cherry Street, Freeport, Texas.

Commissioner Hoss noted the following information that was included on the posted agenda.

This meeting may be attended virtually or in person.

The meeting will be conducted pursuant to Section 551.127 of the Texas Government Code titled "Videoconference Call." This statute provides public officials, employees and members of the public may participate remotely in a public meeting by videoconference call. The Port Commission is utilizing this existing statute to ensure the greatest amount of access to the public and ensure the ability of all Commissioners to participate in meetings during the COVID-19 pandemic.

The quorum of the Port Commission will be located at the Commissioner Meeting Room located at 1100 Cherry Street, Freeport, Texas ("Meeting Location"). The Port Commission intends to have a quorum at the Meeting Location. The presiding Commissioner of this meeting will be physically present at the Meeting Location. The public will be permitted to physically attend the meeting at the Meeting Location.

Public comment will be available at the beginning of the meeting during the agenda item devoted to public comment. Public comment may be communicated virtually and in person, but in either event public comment will be limited to 5 minutes per participant and must be communicated verbally. Following public comment, the public will not be permitted to communicate with the Port Commission.

This meeting agenda and agenda packet is posted online at www.portfreeport.com

The videoconference is available online as follows:

Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81981943927?pwd=NGhPUGZzM3ZLb2VIUHdtSENCZXB2UT09

Meeting ID: 819 8194 3927

Passcode: 154102

Dial by your location

+1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)

+1 669 900 9128 US (San Jose)

+1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)

+1 646 558 8656 US (New York)

+1 301 715 8592 US (Washington DC)

+1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)

Meeting ID: 819 8194 3927

Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kucr0850i

Commissioners present in person:

Mr. John Hoss, Chairman

Mr. Dan Croft, Secretary

Mr. Rob Giesecke, Asst. Secretary

Mr. Shane Pirtle, Commissioner

Commissioners present via videoconference:

Mr. Rudy Santos, Vice Chairman Mr. Ravi Singhania, Commissioner

Staff Members Present:

Mr. Jason Cordoba, Legal Counsel

Ms. Phyllis Saathoff, Executive Director/CEO

Mr. Rob Lowe, Director of Administration/CFO

Mr. Chris Hogan, Director of Protective Services

Mr. Brandon Robertson, Network Systems Manager

Ms. Missy Bevers, Executive Assistant

Ms. Mary Campus, Controller

Ms. Tricia Vela, Public Affairs Assistant

- 1. CONVENE OPEN SESSION in accordance with Texas Government Code Section 551.001, et. seq., to review and consider the following:
- 2. Roll Call Commissioners Santos and Singhania were both present for the meeting via videoconference while Commissioners Croft, Giesecke, Hoss, and Pirtle were present in person.
- 3. Public Comment There were no public comments.
- 4. Adoption of a Resolution approving the temporary exemption from taxation for qualified property damaged by a disaster.

Mr. Lowe stated that on September 13, 2021, Governor Abbott declared Brazoria County to be a disaster are due to Hurricane Nicholas. As a result, property owners may quality for an exemption from taxation of a portion of the appraised value of qualified property if they suffered damage of at least 15% of the property as a result of the disaster. The exemptions will be automatically applied to qualifying properties for taxing units who had not yet adopted a tax rate as of September 13, 2021. Since Port Freeport adopted its tax rate on September 9, prior to the declaration date, the Port Commission must adopt the exemption within 60 days of the disaster declaration to allow qualifying properties to claim the exemption. If the exemption is not adopted, the exemption will not be applied for qualifying properties. Mr. Lowe also noted the chief appraiser will make the final determination on whether or not those who apply for the exemption, will qualify for the exemption. The exemption will then be placed into one of the four following categories 15%, 30%, 60% and 100%. Staff previously met with the Finance Advisory Committee to discuss this exemption which must be adopted by November 12.

A motion was made by Commissioner Croft to adopt the resolution approving the temporary exemption from taxation for qualified property damaged by a disaster. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Singhania with all Commissioners present voting in favor of the motion.

5. Adjourn.

With no further business before the Commission, the meeting adjourned at 10:08 AM.