Minutes of Meeting August 18, 2020 Via Video/Teleconference

Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the order the Office of the Governor issued March 16, 2020, and due to imminent threat to public health and safety and urgent public necessity, the Port Freeport Port Commission will conduct a Special Meeting on Tuesday, August 18, 2020 at 1:00 p.m. by video/teleconference initiated from the Administration Building, 1100 Cherry Street, Freeport, Texas. In order to meet CDC guidelines for social distancing and slow the spread of the Coronavirus (COVID-19), the public can join the video/teleconference meeting by following the instructions below. When the spread of COVID-19 is no longer an imminent threat to our community, in-person meetings will resume.

The meeting will not be open for the public to physically attend the meeting, but the Port welcomes the public to attend virtually. Public comment will be available at the beginning of the meeting on the agenda item indicated below. Following public comment, the public will not be permitted to communicate with the Port Commission.

This meeting agenda and agenda packet is posted online at www.portfreeport.com

Please join the meeting from a computer, tablet or smartphone.

https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/206240717

You can also dial in using your phone. United States (Toll Free): 1 866 899 4679

Access Code: 206-240-717

All participants will be muted until the meeting begins.

New to GoToMeeting? Get the app now and be ready when your first meeting starts: https://global.gotomeeting.com/install/206240717

A link for GoToMeeting Instructions is available at http://www.portfreeport.com/meeting-agenda

Commissioners present:

Mr. Shane Pirtle, Chairman

Mr. John Hoss, Asst. Secretary

Mr. Rudy Santos, Secretary

Mr. Ravi Singhania, Commissioner

Mr. Dan Croft, Commissioner

Staff Members Present:

Mr. Jason Cordoba, Legal Counsel

Ms. Phyllis Saathoff, Executive Director/CEO

Mr. Rob Lowe, Director of Administration/CFO

Mr. Al Durel, Director of Operations

Mr. Jason Hull, Director of Engineering

Mr. Chris Hogan, Director of Protective Services

Mr. Jason Miura, Director of Business & Economic Development

Ms. Missy Bevers, Executive Assistant

Mr. Brandon Robertson, Network Systems Manager

Mr. Mike Wilson, Director of Economic Development

Mr. Jesse Hibbetts, Operations Manager

Absent:

Mr. Paul Kresta, Vice Chairman

Also, present via teleconference:

Mr. William Wachel, WSP

Mr. Blair Garcia, WSP

Mr. Hardik Gajjar, WSP

Mr. Thomas Ward, WSP

Commissioner Pirtle stated the following information...

Today's date is August 18, 2020, and the time is 1:00 p.m. This is the special meeting of the Commissioners of Port Freeport. I am Shane Pirtle, Port Commission Chairman. We are conducting this meeting by video/telephone conference pursuant to Governor Abbott's order suspending certain provisions of the Texas Open Meetings Act in order to minimize the impact of the coronavirus outbreak. This meeting is being recorded as required by the Texas Open Meetings Act.

With the posting of today's meeting a toll-free call in number was indicated on the agenda, along with the agenda packet. Both may be found on the Port's website www.portfreeport.com. Additionally, as posted on the agenda, the public may join the meeting from a computer, tablet or smartphone or by phone using the toll-free call in number.

The meeting will not be open for the public to physically attend the meeting, but the Port welcomes the public to attend virtually. Public comment will be available at the beginning of the meeting as indicated on the agenda. Following public comment, the public will not be permitted to communicate with the Commission.

In the event any member of the public is having any technical difficulty during the meeting, please call (979) 233-2667, and someone will assist you.

Being considerate of all participants on this call today, we respectfully request everyone "mute" their phones unless you are speaking.

If an Executive Session was noticed on the published agenda, that will occur unless otherwise indicated during the meeting. If an executive session was not noticed on the published agenda, the Commission still retains to go into executive session as permitted by law. In such case, it will be announced prior to this body going into Executive Session. During Executive Session the public will not be permitted to hear the meeting, as is the case under the Texas Open Meetings Act.

- 1. CONVENE OPEN SESSION in accordance with Texas Government Code Section 551.001, et. seq., to review and consider the following:
- 2. Roll Call Commissioner Pirtle stated that Commissioner Singhania, Commissioner Hoss, Commissioner Santos and Commissioner Croft were present online. Commissioner Kresta was absent from the meeting. Those present in the board room (at a safe distance) included Commissioner Pirtle, Phyllis Saathoff CEO, Rob Lowe CFO, Jason Hull Director of Engineering, Al Durel Director of Operations, Jason Miura Director of Business Development, Missy Bevers, Executive Assistant, Brandon Robertson Network Systems Manager, Jesse Hibbetts, Operations Manager and Mike Wilson, Director of Economic Development.
- 3. Public Comment There were no public comments.
- 4. EXECUTIVE SESSION in accordance with Subchapter D of the Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code Section 551.001, et. seq., to review and consider the following:
 - A. Under authority of Section 551.072 (Deliberation Concerning Real Property Matters) for discussion regarding:
 - Discussion regarding the potential exchange, lease, or value of real property located in Freeport, Texas, including but not limited to the are known as the East End of Freeport and bordered by or adjacent to the following streets: FM 1495; East 2nd Street; Terminal Street and East 8th Street in Freeport, Texas.
 - 2. The potential purchase, exchange, lease or value of real property located at Port Freeport, including but not limited to the real property located at and contiguous to Berths 1, 2, 5 and 7.
- 5. RECONVENE OPEN SESSION:
- 6. Adjourn.

With no further business before the Commission, the meeting adjourned at 3:38 PM.